Storm 415 Work Boot Black

$150.00
$150.00
rating
23 Review(s)
OR

Customer Reviews 10 item(s)

1-10 of 23

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
3 YEARS STRONG
I have had these boots for 3 years now. They still do what they were designed to do when i bought them. I have stepped into huge puddles of water with dry feet. They are not bulky boots. They have seen a huge amount of salt. They refuse to die as I thrash them through the tough Chicago weather. 3 Years later and couple of shoe cleanings they still keep water out. Once These soles wear out. Im Going back for a second Pair. Only thing id say is maybe they can put more insulation in future boots. Just a tad bit more chrome. Otherwise AMAZING slim winter boot.
rating
Review by Gabe L / (Posted on 1/30/2016)
Love these boots!!!
Great for from the get go. Tough as nails to boot! *no pun intended* -just wish they were insulated. Completely waterproof. Look great too. Took me awhile to get used to the shape of the rubber on the toes. Reminds me of the toy Playmobile people heads. Hahaha...
rating
Review by brandon / (Posted on 11/22/2015)
Get 'em
Fantastic boot! Have been rocking the same pair for about 3 years. WATERPROOF! Haven't had a wet foot yet. Rock these on bike rides, nights on the town and even took them to the peak of the tallest mountain in Utah.
rating
Review by Nebnotelpats / (Posted on 10/29/2015)
Durable, Comfortable, Ages well
I have worn a single pair of these boot for the last 2 years. I am buying my 2nd pair now. Made with long lasting materials. I don't plan on retiring my first pair yet. Still no blow outs or holes in the outer shell of the shoe. The treds on the shoe are still in good condition as well. I work in construction and used to go though 3-4 pairs of boots in one year.
rating
Review by Colter / (Posted on 9/21/2015)
Functional, Versatile, a true Jack-of-all-trades.
I live in Detroit and commute by bike 365 days a year. Like many other year-round cyclists (especially those in colder climates) durability and versatility are paramount when it comes to the clothing I look for. In regards to footwear, I want a pair of kicks that are rugged enough to combat the rain, sleet, and snow but won’t leave me looking like a disheveled lumberjack when I go out to dinner. Enter the Storm 415 Work Boot.

From a functional standpoint, these dudes perform! No amount of wheel spray or ankle-deep puddles can breach this boots. That said, on days when the rain reaches monsoon-like proportions I’ve had to pair the boots with ankle gaiters, but that’s more due to the fact that I rarely ride with fenders, not due to design shortcomings with the 415’s. In low temperature riding, the boots keep my toes warm and blood circulating without overheating-especially when reinforced with some nice wool socks. This is huge, because my previous winter footwear options would induce sweating after just a few miles.

The boots perform aesthetically as well. Inspired by that classic high-top sneaker style, they feel right at home with a pair of jeans and a tee-shirt but aren’t afraid to venture into more upscale territory. The leather exterior and subtle red accents set these boots apart from their casual counterparts, looking sharp with a button-down or blazer. Nothing keeps me out of the saddle more than being invited to a formal event and having to bring a costume-change. After picking up the work boots, my bus/cab fare expenses have declined dramatically.

My only reservation, and the reason I opted for 4, instead of 5 stars, is the durability. I purchased the boots in February of 2014 and quickly noticed wear in the soles after 3 or 4 months. At the 11 month mark, the wear had developed into full-on holes that compromised the waterproofing of the boots. I continued to wear them anyway, and only just retired them in July of 2015 when the the entire sole detached after catching my toe on some stairs. Now I can’t dock Chrome too many points here. Wear and tear is extremely subjective, and frankly, I wore the crap out of these things. Considering the price point, and the ringer that I sent these guys through, they’re an excellent value. In fact, before I decided to write this review, I was on my way to ordering another pair.

Thanks Chrome and keep up the good work!

-Charlie

ps: In the future, I would love to see a version of this boot that is more cycling-oriented. A stiffer sole for power transfer and a recessed channel for SPD cleats (just like the City SPD line).
rating
Review by Detroit Charlie / (Posted on 7/29/2015)
Fantastic boots.
I love these boots. They aren't bulky like other boots and are really quite comfortable. I have pretty slim feet and these boots fit snugly. They aren't lying when they say these are waterproof. I walk around in the Portland rain confident that my feet will remain dry! Worth every penny.
rating
Review by Bill / (Posted on 6/9/2015)
Excellent on the Bike and on the Road!
As a bay area boy born in SF in the 60"s, I can truly say that no shoe captures the innovative spirit and unique cosmoplitan character of urban street life better then the 415 Workboot! Totally waterproof but comfortable and stkylish, the boot's non slip sole works well on cement surfaces and during long work days then transitions into cool urban pavement wear downtown with my jeans and a cold beer at the bar! Chrome! You out did yourself. Performs well as a clipless alternative to Stp's.
rating
Review by Marque Rudolph / (Posted on 5/10/2015)
Consider making larger sizes for large people.
Awesome looking boot. Too bad I'll never get a pair, considering you only make them for small people. Yes, I called you small.
rating
Review by Big foot a$$face / (Posted on 4/4/2015)
good idea, poor execution
Been a fan of Chrome footwear for a few years now, but unfortunately the Storm version of the 415 is a fail. The look and fit of the boot is great, and the idea of welded rubber and treated leather sounds good, but the execution does NOT work. It only took a couple weeks for the rubber to peel away from the leather and render the boots absolutely not waterproof, at all. Definitely still wearable, but purchased the Storm version for the added water resistance so this particular boot is a no go, stick with the original 415.
rating
Review by angus / (Posted on 2/6/2015)
Awesome Shoes!!!
I have two pairs of these and ready for my third. I wear these every day all year around. I did not enjoy riding with these boots, they slipped off my BMX flat pedals, they would probably be fine with toe cages. The soul is great and does not hold debris, which I like a lot. You can just rinse them off. The rubber toe is a plus and leather upper is great with some boot dressing. For laced shoes they are very easy to put on and take off.

My second pair was a lot tougher than the first pair. I still wear the first pair to work around the house. The Gor-Tex is a great addition to keep the feet dry when it's wet.

Buy these and enjoy with some Chrome Merino socks!!!
rating
Review by DC Bootnails / (Posted on 2/2/2015)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Storm 415 Work Boot Black

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
rating