Buran Laptop Messenger Bag

$160.00
$160.00
rating
35 Review(s)
OR

Customer Reviews 10 item(s)

1-10 of 35

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Western Oregon Proof
This is a good fit for my needs. I commute by bike and carry my laptop back and forth to work. I commute year-round so half of it is in the rain. It's big enough to hold my laptop and my rain gear (when I'm not wearing it). My only complaint is I couldn't swap shoulders when I was recovering from a broken collarbone.
rating
Review by Keith / (Posted on 2/3/2016)
Solid Construction / Bad Design
I've had the Buran for just over a year now. I'm an illustrator and a web designer so I need to have space for all my pens and laptop accessories. Previously I had a SealLine messenger bag, and absolutely swore by it.

I have a Surface Pro 3 and keep it in the dedicated laptop area. Unfortunately it really is made for 13" Macbooks, because now the corners and sides are floppy and bent. The bottom of the laptop pouch is also always like, crunched and folded. It works, but if you don't have a Macbook pro it doesn't make sense.

The pouches in front do a pretty good job of organizing stuff, but I'd kill for a zipper pouch or something in the main compartment opposite the laptop sleeve. But it's a nice big space for water and a sweater if you wanna stash one.

The strap is big and clunky but very, very comfy on bike rides. That's really the main reason I got it. I've been in some heavy rain and nothing's gotten soaked either. The bottle opener is pretty cool, but hard to use.

The back pocket isn't useful for anything other than putting some padding in there if you want. It's right against your back so unless you want a really lumpy commute, don't use it.

The gripes I have with this bag are the way the flap closes, and the snaps on the outside. I've had stuff fall out of the bag because I didn't close the snaps, and almost lost a laptop cord. Also, the snaps are constantly stuck to the velcro and beginning to fray. I dunno who's idea that was but it's a really bad design decision. If i have to use the snaps to secure the flap every time anyway, why have velcro at all? Especially if the velcro is slowly destroying the snaps?? C'mon Chrome.

That said, after a year of daily use it shows ZERO sign of wear (except for the snaps in front). It's heavy and awkward but it's solid, and it's American made so bravo!

My biggest complaint is the flap and those dumb snaps, I'd like to see another bag that has a hook or a release that's easier to use. The good ol' SealLine had these awesome hooks you could do and un-do with the same motion as closing the flap, and it was light as a feather. But this is definitely a well constructed bag that really is good for biking and day to day stuff.
rating
Review by Mike / (Posted on 1/28/2016)
Needs front pocket
The Buran is a great overall bag made well like most Chrome products.

However if this is to be the everyday work bag with laptop functions it should function more like an everyday bag and less like a messenger. One feature needed is an outside front pocket. The most important pocket on all everyday bags. But most messenger bag manufactures who aren't in a big city don't realize this. Those people that commute in a big city and rely on public transportation know what I am talking about. That front pocket is so important to be accessed quickly and conveniently. When you are shoulder to shoulder with people the last thing you want to do is open your big messenger flap to get your keys or wallet or chapstick or whatever.

Please put a front pocket on the flap of this Buran bag and it will be the ultimate everyday work bag.
rating
Review by Bag Freak / (Posted on 8/28/2014)
Great School Bag
This bag is defiantly large enough to fit four or more heavy textbooks, my 13" laptop, and a large water bottle. I use this bag for carrying my college books and laptop. It fits nicely on my shoulder but does hurt my shoulder if I have a lot of weight in the bag from books. Overall this is a great bag if you have to carry a lot of things.
rating
Review by Harry Potter / (Posted on 8/21/2014)
Love it, but not quite...
I love this bag. I wanted this bag for my husband. Has the supportive strap his back needs to carry a messenger bag. The only problem is that neither of our 17" computers fit in it. We have a new HP and an old MBP and neither fit in the laptop sleeve--and be able to zip it while still being able to zip the sleeve closed. I'm sad I have to return it. If we had smaller computers this totally would have worked! #firstworldproblems
rating
Review by Bekki / (Posted on 1/1/2014)
This. Bag. Owns.
FIRST!

Hilariously, I had *just* ordered a Citizen combo pack, then 2 days later Chrome releases the Buran, which was exactly what I needed in the first place: an office-friendly version of the Citizen with an integrated laptop sleeve and a few more pockets. I needed a truly all-purpose bag I can use on long trips and, most importantly, commute in without making a clumsy compromise (the Soma was just too awkward and small for me). I'm glad I exchanged!

I work for a indie gaming company during the day, and run a humor comix mag on the side, so there tends to be all kinds of work stuff I need to port at any given time. Plus I hit the gym and run errands on the way home. (Spontaneous Trader Joe's stops!)

Black on black is perfect for me, as the more color ways something is available in, the more indecisive I get. I wear my bags hard, so black is always safe bet anyway.

If you're worried about size: it's huge, but won't engulf you. I'm 5'8" with more legs than torso, so I was worried. But it distributes the weight perfectly, no matter how much I put in it. It's just like the Citizen in terms of volume capacity. Also, it swallows my old bag without breaking a sweat! I literally toted my old messenger bag (12x15x4.5) inside the Buran on my way home from work, with room to spare. Amazing.

The laptop sleeve is huge too– it really could fit a 17" mb pro. I have a 13" mb but I haven't experienced any probs so far.

I've only used it one day, so maybe I will update after I put on more miles with it.



rating
Review by Mander / (Posted on 4/26/2013)
this is a sweet bag
i do love this bag, had it for a few weeks now, comfortable with lots of storage.

only draw back is that my 17 inch Dell XPS laptop does not fit all the way, it sticks out about 1/2 inch and i can't zip it up.

but that aside i'm still extremely happy with this bag.
rating
Review by Matt / (Posted on 4/26/2013)
Just what a ollege student needs
I've been looking for a good bag to carry around to class, and this is it. I got it as a gift from a relative, and it's absolutely amazing. Carries my books, laptop, and whatever else I have to haul around comfortably. Plus, I don't have to worry about soaking wet books and a ruined laptop when it rains.
Sweet product!
rating
Review by Colin UGA / (Posted on 4/26/2013)
...what i was looking for in the first place
This bag combines all of my needs for daily use. While cycling extremely comfortable it stores all my stuff for daily use.

Great One !!
rating
Review by Tobe / (Posted on 4/26/2013)
Plain Awesome!
This bag is.....let's see.....hhmmm PERFECT!!! it's looks quality, if feels quality, it screams quality, men this thing is comfortable LOVE IT!
rating
Review by Jay Zilla / (Posted on 4/26/2013)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Buran Laptop Messenger Bag

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
rating